Posted by: Daniel Katyl | September 18, 2009

Why health care reform should matter to college students

When I was in undergrad, the only time health care crossed my mind was when I had my regular bi-yearly check up. I was on my parents’ health care plan and that is all I needed to know.  Many of you might be in that same boat right now, where there are more pressing matters in your immediate life that put the health care debate on the back burners of you minds.

Well, to those in that situation right now, you should read about President Obama’s recent rally with students from the University of Maryland. He gave a compelling argument about why students should be concerned with health care reform. I encourage you to take a look!

If you would like to continue reading about the health care debate, we’ve pulled a few key articles for you.  The first talks about the difficulties that lay ahead in the Senate in order to get 60 votes to pass a health care reform bill.  The second is about the importance of health care reform from a social justice angle, citing that health care is a human right that all should be able to have. Both are great and informative articles, but don’t take my word for it, take a look yourself!

Leave a Reply

Categories

