Posted by: Francesca de la Torre | September 25, 2009

Faithfully Funny Fridays

As the kickoff post for Faithfully Funny Fridays, I was hoping to be really funny. I’m going to leave it up to you whether or not this is actually funny. I find it funny in a sad kind of way.

First, you have to check out probably the least biased account that I have found of Kirk Cameron’s latest endeavor.  Depending on your openmindedness and your personal beliefs, you may find this funny.  In the past week, Kirk’s video has been spreading like wildfire on YouTube.

Regardless of what I have been taught and what I believe, I definitely agree with the questioning of ideas and research, and if that means for Kirk Cameron that he is going to hand out a bunch of free books to college students, then I don’t see a problem with that, but I’ll have to read what he’s putting out to really know if I find his words offensive. The funniest part of this to me is that without having read the new introduction that Kirk is promoting, so many people are upset. At least this one isn’t so serious.

If Kirk is out there reading this post, even if I don’t agree with you, I think it’s ok for you to humiliate yourself on college campuses and I support your right to freedom of speech. Also, I hope you come to Penn.

Responses

  1. http://www.insidehighered.com/news/2009/10/07/darwin

    Just a follow up article from Inside Higher Ed speaking more to the involvement of Living Water.

  2. Fran does have a sense of humor. I too am interested in reading what it is that is being handed out and will reserve forming any opinion until I do. The parody on Kirk Cameron’s videomercial was actually funny in an irreverant way. Thanks Fran.

  3. I was thinking it was going to be a joke when it first started. Who are these people again? He was a teeny bopper, no? And it’s an interesting concept, including a rebuttal in a book that you don’t agree with. But I’m not so sure they’d appreciate people putting a rebuttal to the Genesis in it’s front pages…I know it’s not an equivalent, and perhaps an unfair argument to make, but still. Righteousness, often turns into self-righteousness and it bothers me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

