Posted by: Danielle Heitmann | February 8, 2010

Coffee In a Sleepy Student’s Life

I stopped drinking coffee yesterday morning. I didn’t brew it myself when I woke up—I simply forgot I wanted some.  Today, I looked at the brewer and realized I really didn’t need a cup.

Now, if you know anything about my polar bear student habits, you will recognize just how odd this is for me, aka the person who once asked her electrical engineer brother to make a coffee brewer that syncs up with the snooze button for Christmas. It is not so much that I like coffee; it is rather that I need it to function in the same way a chronic smoker needs his/her pack to relax.

That is why I am scratching my head now wondering where my coffee addiction went. It is not even 10:00 am and I am in Van Pelt with a fully alert mind. I already had a meeting with my professor about a presentation I have to make in class, and I’m about to tackle a dense philosophy paper on the ethics of climate change. I bought a cup of coffee from Mark’s, I think as a safety net, because somewhere inside of me a voice was screaming that it was only a matter of time before my searing caffeine headache would kick in. Yet, I have been up since 7:30 this morning and nothing bad has happened. I feel completely fine. I have tried to cut back on my caffeine addiction before, and it has never been this easy. It seems too good to be true, doesn’t it?

I glance down at the cup of coffee on my desk. It is sitting in front of me and slowly getting cold. I wonder if January marked the end of my coffee obsession. For a student maxed out on credits with a part-time job and regular extra-curricular activities I hardly think so; but I’ll keep you posted.

Responses

  1. I too had a coffee/caffeine addiction for over 40 years. Boy was it tough to break. About two years ago, I finally got off the caffeine, but I couldn’t get off the coffee. I do two cups of decaf each morning, I can’t help it. Just to put my hands around that warm cup, to taste the java, I even miss the shaking of the sweet and low packet and the stirring of the spoon. We are such creatures of habit and those habits are so hard to overcome. I hope for you, Danielle, now that we are already into the month of March, your habits have continued to be forgotten.


Leave a Reply

Categories

