Posted by: Matthew Fox | March 30, 2010

Counting Down the Days

I’m a winter person.  I prefer the cold to the warm.  Still, this year even I was ready for winter to end.  The weather the past few weeks has gone from bad to worse.  As a result of my weekend commutes between Philadelphia and New York City, I have been exposed to the best of each city.  Philadelphia saw SNOW-mageddon at the beginning of February, which crippled the city for two days.  NYC had its own foot of snow at the end of February.  Winds the last weekend of February uplifted trees; while driving down Ocean Parkway in Brooklyn, one could find a tree lying in the middle of every two to three blocks.

Yet, winter now seems to have left as quickly as it came.  The changing weather is clear evidence of spring; the sun has been out almost every day for the last week.  Although we have not been without our fair share of wind, the precipitation we’re now witnessing has switched solely to wind.  Finally, spring is here.

Going to class during the spring is so difficult.  Trying to write papers is even harder.  The changing weather is calling for me.  I want to be outside.  Penn only has a month or so left of classes.  Still, this last month is the longest one of the semester.  With finals and term papers coming up, class work is nowhere near done.  If anything, it’s only getting started.

I’m not a very optimistic individual.  Yet, I do know that if I push myself now, I can benefit later.  I’ll continue to push my fun back a few weeks, so that I can finish the semester with my grades intact.  I’m so close to the end that I can see it, although it’s never worth counting one’s chickens before they hatch.

As the year winds down, I have much to look forward to.  Next year is my last at Penn and I hope to be able to take part in all that Penn has to offer.  The key for next year, as well as next month, is to find the balance between work and play that allows me to not only finish my studies, but to enjoy myself.

Leave a Reply

Categories

