Posted by: Bobby Desulme | April 6, 2010

The value of memory

I have always had a great appreciation for the human memory. I think that our memory is one of the greatest intellectual tools that we have as human beings. Even though we are not always fully conscious of it, our memory helps us perform most of our daily actions. This may sound futile to most us every day, because I doubt that most have forgotten one morning how to brush our teeth or again how to talk. We must, however, be grateful for these simple yet important tasks that our memories allow us to do on a daily basis. My Latin teacher in junior high used to remind all of us students the importance of hard studying by telling us; “La mémoire est une faculté qui oublie,” a French proverb that means; “The memory forgets.”

I think my teacher wanted all of us to know the importance of studying hard in order to remember things. The latter is not only valuable for educational purposes, but I would also add that remembering is important in all areas of life and that we should all always strive not to be forget to easily what takes place in our lives.

During the last month, I spent a lot of time thinking of my grandmother who passed away two years ago, during the spring semester of my senior year in college. I spent time remembering the good advice that she gave and also all the funny stories that she told me. During the last few months of her life she was unable to speak because she had to have a tracheotomy to help her breathe better. I remember going to see her at the hospital and not being able to hear her voice anymore. It was  such a painful task to see her using all her strength to speak this long sentences, without ever hearing one sound but the one of air coming in and out her throat. The advice and funny stories were only communicated through tears and smiles. When she passed away, I was so grateful that I was still able to remember her voice.

During the last week some of us were celebrating Easter. I think that I was pleased to remember that Jesus died on a cross because he loved all humanity. I also am thankful that God delivered the Israelites from the slavery the endured while in Egypt and Easter was a great time to remember these things. Remembering Christ at Easter, is remembering that God loves us and was ready to live and die as a human being because of this sacred love for humanity. Remembering the Jewish Passover is remembering that the Holy One cares for us, hears us during our times of struggles and also delivers and frees us from our bondage.

The month of April will be the last one that I will spend as an intern at the Christian Association. There are many people during my internship that have had a great impact on my life. I know that it will not be easy to leave, but I think that it will be even harder to forget. I have appreciated my time here working on the topic of reproductive justice and I know that I will always remember the stories that I heard from the women at the abortion clinic where I was volunteering as a pastoral care giver.

Some things that we remember are not always pleasant and it is often hard to find good in every single memories we recollect. There are some tragedies that take place during life that none of us really want to remember and would even wish to forget at times. I know however that we can all find a few things that we are grateful to remember. The crucifixion of Jesus was not a joyous scene to witness, but I am glad that we can read of his resurrection today. The enslaved Israelites in Egypt suffered a terrible pain, but I thank Heaven that we can remember that they are delivered at the end of the story. Even though I miss my grand-mother, I am grateful to remember her voice today. I know that even as I am writing today, I will surely miss the Christian Association and the great people I met hear but I will never forget the joy and growth that I have experienced due to this internship and that I will always be grateful to God for that.

Responses

  1. C’était vraiment touchant et troublant.

    Renelle D


Leave a Reply

Categories

